Resources for complete beginners? S-250 build-out

MrNobody

Greetings!

I am new to the whole 'overland' world and embarking on my first DIY camper build.

After a bit of searching around the forums and the internet at large, I couldn't find a master beginner thread for newbs such as myself but I figure there must be something.

I recently bought an S-250 communications shelter and am going to convert it into a camper to sit on my flat deck truck.

I have no construction, electrical (except some circuit soldering), or mechanical experience (I can change my oil, simple part swaps of course), I make dentures for a living, so as far as this sort of thing goes I am about as green as it gets.

Anybody have any pointers or directions toward resources they found helpful when they began doing this sort of thing?

Also, I was thinking of documenting the whole process, would there be any interest in following along if I were to post that here?

Sincerely,

Mr. Nobody

p.s. thats me on the left

Attachments

• PXL_20230922_155008340.MP.jpg
    PXL_20230922_155008340.MP.jpg
    7.7 MB · Views: 52
  • PXL_20230922_160244483.jpg
    PXL_20230922_160244483.jpg
    3.4 MB · Views: 49
Last edited:

NatersXJ6

Explorer
Hmmm…. I think you’ve found the best resource in coming here, although the “look what I built” threads are much more often becoming the “look at my list of brands” threads.

You are asking for a huge list of skills, tools, and ideas to be dropped into your lap all in one neatly bundled resource… it is unlikely to happen.

Some starter advice: get the box mounted and start camping. Add needs as you go. Form follows function, and what you “think” function will be is often ground into the fine powder of reality while camping.

Have a place to work. If you are trying to do all this in the parking lot of an urban apartment…. Just… don’t.