So I Want a D2 (Jeep Owner)

AeroSynch

Adventurer
Hey guys, I currently own a 1999 XJ that I am selling (in the classifieds) because I want to buy a Discovery II. I know the issues and the reliability differences between my Jeep and the Discovery, yet I still want one.

I am currently a Sophomore in College and bought the Jeep to try the off road thing, to realize that I loved it. Only reason I bought the XJ was because it was the best reliable off roader I could get with $3,000 from Financial Refunds.

I consider myself somewhat handy but definitely willing to learn (installed the suspension, etc on my Cherokee with friends help) so I would gladly learn to work on the DII and avoid mechanics etc unless a huge job.

The question is, a 1999 D2 like this:

http://miami.craigslist.org/mdc/cto/2444150994.html

Or a 2004 D2 like this:

http://www.pinnaclemotorcarsonline.com/web/1957/vehicle/1354976/2004-Land Rover-Discovery-S

I like the front end of the 2004 way better, but that would be more to finance (giving the Jeep as down when it sells). With the 1999 I can pay most of it if not all right away cash if I sell the Jeep ASAP.

1999 has no CDL shifter and 4.0 vs 4.6 and CDL shifter (and possible 4.6 issues?) in the 2004.

What to do, what to do? This is why I came to you guys. (No you can't convince me to get a Toyota or something else, don't try.) :p

overlander

Expedition Leader
Welcome (almost) to the brotherhood of the muddy oval! Relax, it will only hurt for a little bit. :ylsmoke: