do you carry a gun ?

LUISJG

Explorer
how many of you guys carry a gun on your offroad trips?
anyone know the law about carry a gun interstate when going offroad camping etc.?

calamaridog

Expedition Leader
Every state has different rules. Knowing what states you would travel to would help people more accurately answer the question.

XXXpedition

Explorer
wheeling in alaska, most people in the group carried at leaston gun.
one really cool rig i looked at closer had a gun on the dash, one in the center console, and a shotgun on the back seat....
everywhere else i wheeled nobody carried guns.
sven

JIMBO

Expedition Leader
:Mechanic: I have been carrying a gun off-road for over thirty years

The last 5 years it's been a S & W 1911, before that it was my Colt 1911 NM

IMGP0661.jpg

It's not the biggest and bestes, but it's compfy and it has three mags easily reloaded (21 rounds)

Crossing state lines, even when you have a CCW-is asking for trouble

:gunt: :gunt: JIMBO

goodtimes

Expedition Poseur
When I travel in a group, or with no doors on the jeep....no. There is safety in numbers, and without doors on the jeep there is no way to secure the weapon if I needed to.

When I travel solo, or if it is just me and the g/f, then yes, I typically have a .45 ACP along for the ride.

Martinjmpr

Wiffleball Batter
Carry? As in "on my body?" Not normally, although I do have a permit to do so (as does the fiancee.) However, I typically have a handgun with me in the truck for protection. 911 is pretty far away in some of the areas I go to! Normally it's a S&W 686 in .357. Hot .357 loads are my "bear repellent."

Christophe Noel

Expedition Leader
AlaskanFlightMedic said:
In Alaska you would be dumb not to carry while camping.
Uh oh. Never thought I was ignernt until now. :shakin: