What kind of welder?

The Adam Blaster

Expedition Leader
For those of you that weld, what make/model do you use or would recommend?
I have zero welding experience and I'm just looking to get started, so I don't want a huge expensive machine or anything.
I also would like to be able to plug it into a standard household outlet, and having only one good hand, I understand a mig is really the only way to go.

So, any suggestions?

wanderer-rrorc

Explorer
lincoln 140C...anything that will take a bottle and has infinite voltage settings if FAR AND ABOVE better to learn and use than the 4 or 5 preset voltages..

and I happen to like the lincolns..but miller works good too...140's run on 110 20amp circuts..

theres a guy on Ebay that has them for $664 all day long..

WoldD90

Adventurer
It all depends on your current welding needs and what you may need in the near future. Your best bet would be to take a Welding class a your local trade school. Then figure out how you could use it now and in the future. Then buy a local, used welder pretty cheap.

AFSOC

Explorer
Miller, ESAB, Lincoln, Hobart

As stated above, inert shielding gas and infinite heat adjustability are the best features to pursue. I think for hobbyists, duty cycle at full amperage is a minor consideration and a very spendy quest if you want to chase 100%. Not necessary in our garages, only for production work IMHO. I would look at offerings from the major 3-4 Welder OEMs. Buy the best (biggest) your budget or circuits will accommodate. The thing about welders is that you'll never hear someone say, "Gosh, I wish I would have bought a smaller welder." :confused:

R_Lefebvre

Expedition Leader
Lots of good advice. Yes, MIG is pretty much your only option, you couldn't TIG with one hand. You could stick weld, but, I'm not sure you want to. (I hate it).